I had to buy myself some new bookshelves. Actually, I spent yesterday’s evening putting together three bookcases, because I’m running out of space. Quickly.

I’d love to read all the books I’ve collected so far. More so, as they’re just keep coming! Just last week I’ve received my own copy of Gray’s Anatomy – always wanted to have that on my shelf; actually, it’s quite helpful if English isn’t your native language and you’re preparing to go to the doctor’s office and explain what’s wrong with you, exactly. And I keep using the engravings as drawings’ references.

51zqDjGpqqLI’ve treated myself with 2011 leatherbound Barnes&Noble edition in adorable dark-blue covers, with even more adorable picture of human heart just in the middle. The heart is coated with gloss varnish and looks quite ornamental. And I’m a sucker for the covers that resemble the medieval leather covers, decorated with brass or bronze stamps and golden foil. (I need to remember to tell you some fun stories about bookbinding in centuries past. I happen to know a couple of them.)

Over thousand of pages of very thin, old-school paper, almost tissue-thin still makes this a thick, heavy volume, and looks very imposing on the shelf. Makes me remember all the years of my childhood, when I was reading books about medicine, desiring to know everything about human body, and never-ever wanting to become a doctor, because touching other people is icky. It was probably a good idea to forgo a career in medicine and pursue my librarianship dreams. I’d be worse than House, M.D.

Anyway, if you’d like to have a copy for yourself, I can really recommend this edition. Looks pretty, all of the engravings are there, and you can feel better for having in your possession one of the most iconic scientific books. Then just go and buy The Feynman Lectures on Physics, and you’re settled for life.

 

51T-rg2FSPLI’ve also started reading A Brief History of the Spy: Modern Spying from the Cold War to the War on Terror by Paul Simpson (because, you know, I’m writing a steampunk espionage novel, and reading helps me with not-writing), and so far I find it more dull than entertaining. Although I’m promised by the cover that there will be some good stories of individual spies from multiple countries; sadly, I’m falling asleep every four or five pages (I’m usually reading it in bed), so it will take a week or so. I really hope for inspiring, quality content – I got stuck in the middle of my novel’s plot and struggle to move it forward; anyone has some good advice for overcoming the writer’s block? I could really use one. 

 

I’m going pretty well with my own Terry Pratchett challenge – I want to reread all of the books before reading The Shepherd’s Crown, and before finally saying goodbye to one of my favourite authors. I’m going to miss Discworld so much! Maybe the senso of loss will actually motivate me to finish an old fanfiction of mine, about superheroes in Ankh-Morpork. Vimes doesn’t like them, that much I can tell you.

 

For some reason I picked up The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky; I’m listening to it while working and somehow it makes me feel at peace. Those great Russian novels always have this effect on me; I guess there’s something peaceful in the style of narration. I’ll share some more thought on that next week, as I still have 26 hours of audiobook before me. Should be done with this by Wednesday (one more novel form the list of 1001 books to read!)

 

Ah, how do I love those great novels, the greatest books of all the time! I could read the books by Old Masters all my life, broaden my mind and soul…!

…Anybody cares to recommend me some good Harry Potter fanfiction?

